Singingtofu’s Weblog
Fantastic vegetarian food, and the crazy girl who blogs about it.

Orange Chai La-la-la-la bars!

I have an apology to make.  I definitely deserve some sort of “Worst Blogger” award, due to my inexcusable lack of posts over spring break.  I promise I’ll try to make it up to you, dear readers (although judging by my blog stats, there are very few of you).

Perhaps the reason for the lack of posts is due to the utter un-photogenic-ness of all my cooking over spring break.  Fantasticall yummy dishes such as Sundried Tomato and Chickpea Soup, Applesauce-Raisin spice loaf, and St. Patrick’s Day muffins went unphotographed and unblogged because of their rather unappealing appearance…or just because I was lazy.

But I am back now, and decided to tie together two of my loves: food and sports.  I’m in training for 2 triathlons and a 10k run, and often find myself eating “on the run”, so to speak.  I’ve found myself buying more and more packaged “energy bars”, and my favourite brand, Larabar, was digging a deep hole in my bank account.  So I decided to make my own!

Using these posts by Bittersweet and Bunnyfoot as a guide, and inspired by some delicious chai meringues I made over the break, I threw this together in the whirlwind of before-school preparations.  Which perhaps explains the fact why I can’t remember the exact quantities.  But it tasted good!

Orange-Chai Lalala Bar
2 soft dates (~1 tbsp)
1 tbsp rolled oats
1 tsp bran
1/2 tsp flaxseed
1 tbsp sunflower seed
1/2 tsp wheatgerm
2 tsp raisins
1/2 tsp orange zest
2 tsp orange juice
Cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cardamon, and pepper to taste
Honey to taste

Squish up the dates by hand until they form a sticky, gooey mess. Add in the dry ingredients, squishing until it sticks together somewhat, and then add the OJ. Season with spices to taste. If it’s too wet, add a few more oats, and if it’s too dry, just add some more dates or OJ. There’s no exact science here people, it’s all a matter of personal preference. Enjoy!

And now, I’m off to the lovely bi-weekly grind of making disgusting sandwiches for the carnivorous masses. Chiao, baby!

One Response to “Orange Chai La-la-la-la bars!”

  1. I’m Sophie, Key Ingredient’s Chief Blogger. We would like to feature this recipe on our blog. Please email sophiekiblogger@gmail.com if interested. Thanks :)

    Sophie


Leave a comment