Singingtofu’s Weblog
Fantastic vegetarian food, and the crazy girl who blogs about it.

Dapper Doughnuts

Although their doughnut-ness is dubious due to their deficiency of a doughnut hole, these dapper dough-nuts are dashingly delicious.  Phew!  All alliteration aside, these yummy baked doughnuts from the Vegan Yum Yum are absolutely amazing!  The outsides are crunchy, just like “real” doughnuts, and the insides are soft and fluffy. 

Flavoured with a hint of nutmeg and cinnamon, they remind me of the fairground dougnuts I’d always get at carnivals and the PNE.  I wasn’t sure how my family would react- they’re not usually ones for anything with flax- but between the four of us, we devoured all 18 of these babies in 5 minutes.  I barely managed to rescue one to get photos!

 Feeling rather simple in the dessert department, I skipped the Yum Yum’s suggestions of frosting these babies with frosting, or a chocolate glaze.  Instead, I just sifted a monster amount of powdered sugar over the tops of my doughnuts as soon as they came out of the oven.

 But why are the most delicious things the hardest to photograph?!? I’ve been running into this a lot lately- the “Fettucine Alfredo” from the Post Punk Vegan Kitchen cookbook, the bulgur, white bean, and fig pilaf I made for lunch, the scrambled tofu I made for breakfast…. They all made me roll my eyes in glee at their yumminess, but all the photographs came out looking like s***  Even these cutie pies took half an hour to come out looking moderately edible instead of like little piles of dung.  Maybe in the future I should just eat more, photograph less :)

No Responses to “Dapper Doughnuts”

Leave a comment